Arrested for DWI? The Fight for Your Freedom Starts Here

DWI Penalties in New York

DWI Lawyer in Livingston County

The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers over the age of 21 in New York is 0.08%. For commercial drivers, it is 0.04%, and for minors under 21, it is 0.02%. If you are arrested and charged with the crime of DWI, then you could face serious penalties for conviction. If you have been arrested for drunk driving in New York, speak with a Livingston County DWI lawyer at our firm immediately.

The penalties for various convictions involving DWI may include the following:

  • First Offense - If you are convicted of your first DWI offense, then you will face up to a year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and mandatory surcharges as well as screening or alcohol evaluation. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device. If there is a passenger under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time of your arrest, then you face Class E felony penalties of up to 4 years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines.
  • Second Offense - Conviction of a second DWI offense in the state of New York will include serious penalties. This is a Class E felony, which carries up to 4 years in jail, 30 days of community service, up to $5,000 in fines, license suspension for at least 1 year, and mandatory ignition interlock device installation.
  • Third Offense - If you incur a third offense of DWI charges in New York, then you will face Class D felony charges. A conviction will incur penalties of up to 7 years in jail, 60 days of community service, up to $10,000 in fines, up to 1 year of license suspension, ignition interlock device installation, alcohol assessment, and mandatory surcharges.

New York's Implied Consent Law

The state of New York has an implied consent law, which means that if you are driving on the roads in this state, then you consent to chemical testing if an officer believes you to be driving while impaired. A refusal of a chemical test in this state will result in serious penalties, your license will be suspended for a minimum of one year, and you will face a fine of $500. It is important to retain skilled representation in your case to aggressively fight the charges against you.

Contact our firm today to discuss your situation with a Livingston County criminal defense attorney and to begin building a strong defense of your case!

The Road to Justice Starts Here

Request a Consultation to Discuss Your Case With an Attorney Today
  1. Over 30 Years of Combined Legal Experience
  2. Aggressive Preparation for Trial
  3. Countless Acquittals Earned for the Criminally Charged
  4. Individualized Attention and Strategy for Each Client
Contact Us Now
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.